Latest News

May 17, 2014

One-third of the newly-elected Trinamool MPs are women

One-third of the newly-elected Trinamool MPs are women

After meeting the newly-elected MPs of LokSabha and Rajya Sabha today at her Kalighat residence, Trinamool ChairpersonMs. Mamata Banerjee addressed the media. She said that one-third of the MPs Trinamool issending to the Parliament are women.

11 out of the 34 newly-elected Trinamool MPs are women. Didialso said that the Trinamool MPs hail from various fields and are a truereflection of the entire society. She said that the Trinamool Parliamentaryparty has a balance of experience and youth.

In today’s meeting of the Parliamentary party, Sudip Bandyopadhyay has been elected as theLeader of Trinamool Parliamentary Party in Lok Sabha. Ratna De Nag and SugataBose will be the Deputy leaders in Lok Sabha and Kalyan Banerjee will be the Chief Whip of the party. 

Addressing the press, Trinamool Chairpersonsaid, “We will not organise any victory rally. But party workers will thankvoters in every block and booth. We will observe 21 July as Ma, Mati, Manush Dibas and dedicate thevictory to the people. Winning 34 out of 42 seats in Bengal is no mean feat. Wefought a multi-cornered fight against malicious campaigns. This is the victoryof the people of Bengal. We thank the Ma, Mati, Manush of Bengal.”