Latest News

May 16, 2014

Bengal’s Verdict 2014: Live Blog

Bengal’s Verdict 2014: Live Blog

The final day of 16th Lok Sabhaelections is here. After arduous campaigns across India by various politicalparties in the gruelling heat for two and a half months, the verdict day isfinally upon us. Held in 9 phases, the Lok Sabha elections this year saw arecord turnout of 66%. The total electorate in Bengal is 6,24,68,988 and theturnout was 82.24%.

In the 15th Lok Sabha electionsheld in 2009, Trinamool had won 19 seats.

Stay tuned as we bring you all the latestupdates and trends as the counting progresses through the day. We will alsobring you the reactions and activities from across Kolkata as the verdictunfolds.


Live Updates:

3:26 PM: Trinamool Chairperson addresses the press, dedicates the victory to the Ma, Mati, Manush of Bengal. She said that people are the true Man of the Match in this election.

3:06 PM: Assembly by-election in Bengal – Trinamool leading in 5 out of 6 seats. RSP leading in 1 seat.

3:04 PM: Renuka Sinha wins from Coochbehar. Kapil Krishna Thakur wins from Bangaon.

2:58 PM: Mumtaz Sanghamita wins by a margin of 1.7 lakh votes in Bardhaman-Durgapur. Kalyan Banerjee wins in Serampore. Suvendu Adhikari wins from Tamluk.

2:47 PM: Afreen Ali wins in Arambagh by a margin of over 2 lakh votes. Abhishek Banerjee wins from Diamond Harbour.

2:42 PM: Sugata Bose wins from Jadavpur by a margin of over 1.2 lakh votes. Sisir Adhikari wins from Kanthi.

2:39 PM: Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar wins from Barasat. Idrish Ali wins from Basirhat.

2:38 PM: Saugata Roy wins from Dumdum by over 1.54 lakh votes.

2:37 PM: Deepak Adhikari (Dev) wins from Ghatal. Ratna De Nag wins from Hooghly.

2:20 PM: Trends for 42/42 seats in Bengal: Trinamool leading in 34 seats, Left 2, BJP 2, INC 4.

2:10 PM: Sandhya Roy wins from Medinipur.

1:05 PM: Satabdi Roy wins from Birbhum.

12:45 PM: Celebrations begin at Kalighat as Trinamool sweeps Lok Sabha elections in Bengal.

12:30 PM: Tapas Pal wins in Krishnanagar by over 1.7 lakh votes.

12:02 PM: Dinesh Trivedi wins from Barrackpore by a margin of 1,01,373 votes.

11:45 AM: Vote share of parties in West Bengal: Trinamool 39.3%, Left: 29%, BJP 18%, Congress 9%.

11:29 AM: Trends for 41/42 seats in Bengal: Trinamool leading in 33 seats, Left 1, BJP 3, INC 4.

11:26 AM: Dinesh Trivedi leading in Barrackpore by over 1 lakh votes.

11: 06 AM: Trends for 40/42 seats in Bengal: Trinamool leading in 31 seats, Left 2, BJP 4, INC 3.

10:50 AM: CM Jatua leading from Mathurapur.

10:42 AM: Trends for 37/42 seats in Bengal: Trinamool leading in 30 seats, Left 1, BJP 2, INC 4.

10:41 AM: Aparupa Poddar leading in Arambagh by over 57000 votes.

10:28 AM: Trends for 32/42 seats in Bengal: Trinamool leading in 26 seats, Left 2, BJP 2, INC 2.

10:22 AM: Sreemati Dev Varma (Moonmoon Sen) leading in Bankura.

10:20 AM: Kapil Krishna Thakur leading in Bangaon. Idrish Ali leading in Basirhat.

10:11 AM: Prasun Banerjee leading from Howrah. Sultan Ahmed leading from Uluberia.

9:58 AM: Abhishek Banerjee leading from Diamond Harbour by over 9000 votes.

9:48 AM: Tapas Mandal leading in Ranaghat. Pratima Mandal leading in Joynagar.

9:45 AM: Tapas Pal leading in Krishnanagar. Sandhya Roy leading in Medinipur.

9:40 AM: Trends for 19/42 seats in Bengal: Trinamool leading in 16 seats, Left 2, BJP 1.

9:34 AM: Bijoy Barman leading in Jalpaiguri, Kakoli Dastidar leading in Barasat and Deepak Adhikari leading in Ghatal.

9:23 AM: Saugata Roy leading in Dumdum, Mumtaz Sanghamita leading in Bardhaman-Durgapur.

9:18 AM: Dasarath Tirkey leading by 4300 votes in Alipurduars, Kalyan Banerjee leading by 8000 votes in Serampore.

9:10 AM: Dinesh Trivedi leading in Barrackpore.

9:08 AM: Subhendu Adhikari is leading in Tamluk. Afreen Ali leading from Arambagh.

9:06 AM: Ratna De Nag is leading in Hooghly while Sisir Adhikari is leading in Kanthi.

9:02 AM: Sudip Bandyopadhyay leading in North Kolkata.

9 AM: Subrata Bakshi leading in Kolkata South by 11000 votes.

8:48 AM: Trinamool candidate from Jadavpur, Sugata Bose, leading by 11000 after the sixth round.

8:45 AM: Counting of votes in the EVM begins at the end of postal ballot.

8:00 AM: Counting of votes for the 16th Lok Sabha elections begin. Postal ballots to be counted first.

7.45AM: Heavy security at 48 counting stations acrossBengal. Section 144 has been imposed within a radius of 100 m around thecounting stations. It is a matter of time before the counting of postal ballot begins.