Latest News

August 18, 2014

Trinamool announces candidates for State Assembly bypolls

Trinamool announces candidates for State Assembly bypolls

Former Indian soccer captain Dipendu Biswaswill be the Trinamool Congress candidate for the Basirhat South assembly seatbypoll scheduled to be held next month, the party announced Sunday.

Dipendu Biswas captained the Indian under-19, under-21 and senior teams during hisplaying career. He also turned out for leading club like East Bengal, MohunBagan, Mohammedan Sporting and Mahindra United. The Basirhat South seat fellvacant after the death of the sitting MLA from the Left.

Trinamool Congress National General Secretary announced that actress Nayana Bandyopadhyay will be the partynominee for the Chowringhee assembly by-election. Nayana Bandyopadhyay wasearlier a Trinamool legislator from the Bowbazar constituency. The resignationof sitting MLA has rendered the Chowringhee seat vacant.

The elections to both the constituencieswill be held September 13 and the votes counted September 16.

Incidentally, another former Indian footballteam skipper Prasun Banerjee is now the Trinamool MP from Howrah constituency.