Latest News

July 9, 2014

Kolkata to get 8 new police stations soon

Kolkata to get 8 new police stations soon

Eight more police stations under KolkataPolice will be carved out of the existing ones that will take the number ofpolice stations in the city to 77, from the present 69.

In the first phase, four police stations – Lake,Amherst Street, Karaya and Maniktala – will be bifurcated. The new policestations that will come into existence are Rabindra Sarobar, Vidyasagar, BondelGate and Kankurgachi. Work for the first phase will start before the Pujas.

In the next phase, four more policestations – Ultadanga, Jadavpur, Haridevpur and Kasba – will be bifurcated andthere will be four new police stations: Belgachhia, Golf Green, Barisha andRajdanga respectively.

Kolkata Police in February this yearstarted four new police stations, Sarsuna, Anandapur, Netaji Nagar andPurbasayer, and had indicated that more police stations will be carved out. Afterthese bifurcations, it will become easier for the police to look after the lawand order situation in large areas.