Latest News

March 26, 2015

West Bengal Government to set up 14 new blood banks

West Bengal Government to set up 14 new blood banks

West Bengal Government has decided to setup 14 new blood banks to meet the requirement in rural areas.

The districts of Bankura, Jalpaiguri, Paschim and Purba Medinipur, Murshidabad, Coochbehar and South 24 Parganas have been identified where the blood banks would be set up.

List of upcoming blood banks:

Bankura – three blood banks at Chatna, Onda and Barjara block primary health centres,

Jalpaiguri – one at block primary health centre,

Paschim Medinipur – four blood banks at Salboni, Debra, Nayagram, Gopiballabhpur Grameen Hospital,

Purba Medinipur – two at Nandigram zilla hospital and Panskura block primary school.

Murshidabad – one at Sagardighi Grameen Hospital,

South 24 Parganas – one at Metiaburuz Hospital,

Coochbehar – two blood banks at Dinhata and Mathabhanga Mahakuma hospitals.

The Central Blood Bank and the five other blood banks in the city have been serving people of Kolkata and the surrounding districts of North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Howrah and Hooghly all these years.

A total of 210 vacancies have been created for the new blood banks. For each blood bank, there would be three officers and four technicians to run the operations. It is expected these blood banks will be fully operational by 2017.

The state government also has plans to upgrade 40 of its hospitals to multispecialty hospitals. Apart from Bangur Hospital in the city, several primary block hospitals have been identified for upgradation.