Latest News

March 29, 2015

Trinamool wins uncontested in three municipalities

Trinamool wins uncontested in three municipalities

Trinamool Congress has maintained its winning streak even before the polling of municipality elections in many districts. Saturday being the last day for filing nominations, Trinamool Congress has won uncontested in the three municipalities at Arambagh, Gayeshpur and Tarakeshwar.

Trinamool candidates have won uncontested in around 58 seats across the 91 municipalities in the state.

Trinamool Congress won in the majority of the wards of  the three municipalities after the opposition withdrew nomination in 47 of 52 wards – ­ 16 of 19 in Arambagh, 14 of 15 in Tarakeswar and 17 of 18 in Gayeshpur, thus maintaining majority in all these three municipalities.

In Kanthi and Gangarampur municipalities, Trinamool won uncontested in two wards while in Halishahar, TMC won unopposed in 6 wards.

In Bhatpara, Trinamool Congress candidates Arjun Singh and Anil Kumar Singh won the wards nos 17 and 18 respectively.