Latest News

June 3, 2014

Trinamool MPs reach Delhi for taking oath

Trinamool MPs reach Delhi for taking oath

Team Trinamool is all set for the oathceremony of the newly-elected MPs, which is due to begin tomorrow inParliament. In the recently-concluded Lok Sabha election, Trinamool registereda massive victory by winning 34 out of the 42 seats in West Bengal, thusimproving the party`s tally of 19 MPs in 2009. This time Trinamool fought theelections alone, without any alliance.

Out of the 34 MPs, 14 have been re-electedwhile the rest are all first time Parliamentarians. Needless to say that theyare excited about their new role. From filmstars to academicians, doctors tolawyers – the Team Trinamool in Parliament reflects the entire spectrum of thesociety. Apart from the 34 Lok Sabha MPs, 4 newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs – Mithun Chakraborty, Jogen Chowdhury, KD Singh, Ahmed Hassan Imran – will also take oath.

25 out of the 34 MPs already reached Delhion Monday, amid much fanfare. Huge crowds gathered at the airport to welcomethem. National Spokesperson of Trinamool and Chief Whip of the party in RajyaSabha, Derek O`Brien was present at the airport to receive the newly-electedMPs.

Although the swearing-in of MPs will beginon June 4, the turn of Trinamool MPs will come only on June 5, as the processis done in an alphabetical order of the name of the States. In the next twodays, the MPs will be taken through the whole process of Parliamentaryprocedures and rules. They will also have to complete all the formalities ofprocuring their MP ID Card and other routine paperwork in the Parliament.