Latest News

June 9, 2014

Newly-elected Trinamool Rajya Sabha MPs take oath

Newly-elected Trinamool Rajya Sabha MPs take oath

The four newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs took their oath earlier today. In an election held in February, painter Jogen Chowdhury,actor Mithun Chakraborty, social activist KD Singh and editor of a Bengalidaily Ahmed Hassan Imran had won the elections as candidates of the TrinamoolCongress.

While Jogen Chowdhury and Ahmed Hassan Imran took oath in Bangla, Mithun Chakraborty chose to do so in Hindi. Dr KD Singh took his oath in English. After his oath Jogen Chowdhury said, “Banglar joy hok”.

Trinamool Chairperson Ms. Mamata Banerjee hadcongratulated the winning candidates. She had dedicated the victory to the Maa,Mati, Manush of Bengal. She hoped the winners will pursue the cause of Bengal`sdevelopment in the Parliament.

“There was a time when we had only onerepresentative in the Rajya Sabha. We have come a long way. I thank everyonewho voted for our candidates”, remarked the Chairperson after theelections.