Latest News

December 19, 2015

West Bengal to get five new districts

West Bengal to get five new districts

West Bengal Cabinet led by Mamata Banerjee on Friday cleared the deck for setting up five new districts – Kalimpong, Basirhat, Sunderbans, Jhargram and Burdwan industrial, as it was announced by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

By bifurcating Midnapore (west), Jhargram will be formed. From South 24-Parganas, Sunderbans is to be curved out, similarly Basirhat will be formed from North 24-Parganas. Burdwan will be bifurcated into Burdwan Rural and Burdwan Industrial. Kalimpong will be carved out of Darjeeling district.

Mamata Banerjee, after becoming chief minister, had promised about setting up new districts for better administrative control and so that public service can be delivered at the door steps of the people staying at remote areas.

The five new districts will increase the number of districts of Bengal to 25. Earlier on June 25, Alipuduar became the 20th district of the state after it was curved out of Jalpaiguri.