Latest News

January 6, 2019

State Labour Fairs to be held across January

State Labour Fairs to be held across January

The Labour Department, like last year, is organising labour fairs across Bangla, including in Kolkata, from January 1 to 31, 2019, from 2 PM to 7 PM. Entry is free for everyone.

January 2019 is also being celebrated as Samajik Suraksha Month, dedicated to the State Government’s unique Samajik Suraksha (Social Security) Scheme, covering all classes of workers.

Advice related to education, health, provident fund, life insurance and accident insurance, under the Samajik Suraksha Scheme, is being given at the Labour Fairs.

Participating at the fairs are the State Labour Commissionerate, Directorate of Boilers, Employment Exchange, ESIC (Employees State Insurance Corporation), State Labour Institute, West Bengal Labour Welfare Board, and several government departments.

There will be cultural programmes and sessions on legal advice for labourers during the evenings.

For any information, the toll-free number, 18001030009 can be called. These fairs have already been organised in Kolkata, Serampore, Ranaghat, Diamond Harbour, Uluberia, Chandannagar, Raghunathpur and Asansol.

The places and dates the fairs are going to be held are:

  • January 6: Bardhaman Sadar North, Bardhaman Sadar South, Katwa
  • January 7: Medinipur Sadar, Bangaon
  • January 8: Tamluk
  • January 9: Ghatal, Kandi, Kalimpong, Chanchol
  • January 10: Krishnanagar, Malda, Gangarampur, Birpara
  • January 11: Baharampur, Haldia
  • January 12: Durgapur, Islampur
  • January 13: Bankura, Arambagh
  • January 14: Howrah, Tufanganj
  • January 15: Contai, Kalyani
  • January 16: Kalna, Malbazar
  • January 17: Khatra, Jangipur
  • January 18: Bidhannagar
  • January 20: Chinsurah, Domkol
  • January 21: Purulia East, Mathabhanga
  • January 22: Kakdwip, Raiganj, Bishnupur
  • January 23: Basirhat, Tehatta, Kurseong
  • January 24: Alipur, Rampurhat, Lalbagh
  • January 25: Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Dinhata
  • January 26: Alipurduar, Cooch Behar, Siliguri
  • January 27: Bolpur, Canning
  • January 28: Barasat, Balurghat
  • January 29: Jhargram, Barrackpore, Purulia West
  • January 30: Baruipur, Siuri
  • January 31: Kharagpur, Mekhliganj