Latest News

January 22, 2019

Bangla Govt committed to the development of North Bengal

Bangla Govt committed to the development of North Bengal

The North Bengal Development Department [NBDD] was constituted by the Trinamool Congress Government in July, 2011 to fulfil the aspirations for the social, economic and cultural advancement of the people of districts of Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, Cooch Behar, Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda. Later, Kalimpong district was added to the list when it became a separate district.

Major achievements of since May 2011:

Uttarkanya: The branch secretariat building, named Uttrakanya by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, was built in Fulbari in Jalpaiguri district. It was inaugurated by the chief minister on January 20, 2014.

361 projects: All the 361 ongoing projects and schemes, which were funded by the Uttar Banga Unnayan Parshad, and taken over by the department, have been completed.

Bridges completed: A Bailey bridge in Bijanbari, Darjeeling, Bhatnala Bridge in Chopra block, bridge at Lahil and Netarghat Bridge over River Pitani in Goalpokhar-II block, bridge over Kahalai Channel in Hemtabad, Uttar Dinajpur, two RCC bridges over River Sahu at Kholachand Fafri village and Choto Fafri village, Salugara, Hanskhali Bridge in Chopra, two bridges over River Jhumur and River Kalua in Dhupguri, over River Mara Raidak in Salbari II gram panchayat, Cooch Behar, over River Sui in Parharipur, near Kacchua High Madrasah over River Gamari and over River Sahu in Jugvita under Dabgram Fulbari block

Roads completed: Churamohan-Lalganj, Baitola-Joyhat and Barodighighat-Lalganj roads in Uttar Dinajpur, alternate road for Jalpaiguri from Siliguri via Eastern Bypass, Sahudangi, Ambari Falakata, Belacoba and Gosala

Education: Schemes completed

  • Panchanan Barma University (phase-I) in Cooch Behar; second phase will start shortly
  • Engineering College (phase-I) in Cooch Behar
  • Four ITIs in Kumarganj, Kushmandi, Chopra and Khoribari
  • Nine government colleges in Dhupguri, Ghoksadanga, Nishiganj, Banarhat (Hindi), Manikchak, Chopra,
  • Kumarganj, Naxalbari (Hindi) and Ghoshpukur
  • Extension works of Rajganj College, Dewanhat College, Baxirhat College and APC Roy College
  • Development works of Fathema and Mary Gorethi Schools in Birpara
  • Repair, renovation and extension works of Lilawati College in Falakata, Netaji Subhas Mahavidyalaya in Haldibari and Birpara College in Alipurduar

Sports: Schemes completed

  • Upgrading of Sports Village in Jalpaiguri
  • Building of Indoor Stadium in Alipurduar (seating capacity 5,000)
  • Installation of floodlights and compound lighting at MJN Stadium in Cooch Behar and Brindabani playground in Malda

Tourism: Projects completed

  • Tourism hub in Lamahatta, Darjeeling
  • Repair and renovation of Morgan House, Hill Top and Tashiding Tourist Lodges in Kalimpong
  • Tented accommodation in Jaldapara and Murti
  • Development of Chilapata village in Alipurduar
  • Development of eco-tourism and picnic spot surrounding Damdama Jhil in Cooch Behar
  • Development of Parade Ground in Alipurduar
  • Supply and installation of toy train within the premises of Surya Sen Park in Siliguri

Culture: Projects completed

  • Renovation of Rabindra Bhawan, Raiganj
  • Vertical extension along with construction of boundary wall of Jalpesh Guest House
  • Infrastructural developmental works of the Ekramia Isale Saoab Mazahar Sharif (Huzur Saheb) in Haldibari, Cooch Behar
  • Renovation of Dinbandhu Manch at Siliguri
  • Renovation of Rabindra Bhawan at Shaktigarh, Siliguri
  • State-of-the-art auditorium in Cooch Behar
  • Renovation-cum-construction work of Rabindra Bhawan in Mungpoo, Darjeeling

Infrastructure development: Schemes completed

  • Improvement of Shantinagar Underground Drainage Scheme in Dabgram
  • Construction works of multi-disciplinary Civil Defence Centre in Hathighisa, Naxalbari
  • Central Bus Terminus in Malda
  • Market Complex (phase-I) in Gangarampur, Dakshin Dinajpur
  • Building of Garidhura Police Outpost and Sukhiapokhri Police Station
  • Special repair and renovation of Richmond Hill (official residence of the chief minister)
  • Two-storeyed building comprising of the office of the DSP Traffic & Police Barrack in Bidhannagar, Phansidewa
  • Special repairs and renovation including allied work and electric installations of the Sukna Forest Rest House
  • Six-storeyed guest house at Himanchal Vihar (Phase II), Matigara
  • Bus terminals in Harirampur (with market complex) and Buniyadpur
  • Infrastructure development of 11 haats (markets) in Cooch Behar district

Drinking Water Supply Schemes: Schemes completed

  • Groundwater-based water supply schemes for Kilaram, Ketugabur, Bara Muniram Surajbar, Saubar and Choto Muniram and its adjoining mouzas under Naxalbari block
  • Water supply scheme for Budhsingh Mouza and its adjoining areas under Khoribari block
  • Groundwater-based water supply scheme for Faudigach Mouza and its adjoining mouzas under Phansidewa Block
  • Water supply schemes for Mouza Bhisti, Bhubangurir Chat, Chaupukuria, Dalur Chat and Hallal under Phansidewa block
  • Water supply schemes for Banshidharpur, Kalipur, Kadambini TG and Raichenga under Falakata block
  • Surface-based water supply scheme at Buxa Fort area
  • Installation of three deep tube-wells with pump and plumbing machines, along with pump house, in different wards of Jalpaiguri Municipality
  • Installation of three iron elimination plants in ward numbers 13, 14 and 20 of Jalpaiguri Municipality

Irrigation and River Embankment Protection Works: Schemes completed 

  • Improvement of drainage capacity of Gadadhar Channel, Jalpaiguri
  • 11 river embankment protection works in Jalpaiguri district (Dhupguri, Nagrakata and Rajganj blocks) and one scheme in Alipurduar district (Kumargram block)
  • 13 river embankment protection works in Cooch Behar district (Dinhata-I, Tufanganj-I and II, Sitai, Cooch Behar-I and II blocks)
  • Seven river embankment protection works in Darjeeling district (Matigara, Naxalbari and Phansidewa blocks)

Health: Rs 10 crore has been sanctioned to the Health Department for the procurement of high-end equipments for two district hospitals – Siliguri District Hospital and Darjeeling District Hospital – and three subdivisional hospitals – Kalimpong Subdivisional Hospital, Alipurduar Subdivisional Hospital and Mal Subdivisional Hospital – in north Bengal.