Latest News

March 12, 2014

Trinamool declares second list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections

Trinamool declares second list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections

Trinamool Congress declared the names of about 30 candidates in the second list for Lok Sabha elections 2014. The states for which the seats were declared include Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra and National Capital Territory of Delhi.

The candidate list included names of former bureaucrats, academicians, actors, former ministers, sitting MP, veteran politicians and people from various fields; the list was a true reflection of the society. 

Veteran actor Biswajit Chatterjee will be contesting from the South Delhi constituency while granddaughter of former UP CM and Railway Minister Kamalapati Tripathi, Indira Tiwari will be fighting from Varanasi. Celebrated Assamese actor Biju Phukan will be fighting from Gauhati seat in Assam while former Governor of Meghalaya Ranjit Mooshahary will be fighting from Kokrajhar.

Today the party has declared 10 candidates from Kerala, 4 in Assam, 3 in Uttar Pradesh, 2 each in Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Bihar. 1 seat has been declared in each of the other states.

Trinamool Chairperson, during the press conference, said that Trinamool will be fighting alone in the polls and she will campaign across the country. She had earlier slammed the Central Government at a rally in Ramlila Maidan and called for Poriborton at the Centre. She made it clear that BJP was not the alternative to Congress.

Earlier on March 5, Trinamool Chairperson had announced candidates for 42 seats in Bengal and 2 seats each in Manipur, Tripura and Jharkhand. More names will be announced in the upcoming days.

You can check the second list of candidates here.

Click here to check the first list of candidates.