Latest News

March 5, 2014

Trinamool announces list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls

Trinamool announces list of candidates for Lok Sabha polls

Film personalities, theatre artists, singers, lawyers, former sportspersons and politicians – the list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections 2014, announced by Trinamool Chairperson Ms. Mamata Banerjee has a representation from all walks of society.

Former captain of Indian Football team Baichung Bhutia will contest the election from Darjeeling, filmstar Dev from Ghatal in West Midnapore district, as per the list which includes a number of renowned cultural personalities and non-political people. Moon Moon Sen, daughter of legendary Bengali heroine Suchitra Sen and herself a film actress, will be in fray from Bankura.

Sugata Bose, a grandson of great revolutionary Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose and professor at Harvard University, has been named the party nominee from Jadavpur. Soumitra Roy, a lead singer of popular Bengali band Bhoomi, is being fielded from Maldaha North constituency in Malda district. Theatre personality Arpita Ghosh has bagged the Trinamool ticket from Balurghat in South Dinajpur district. In Midnapore, the Trinamool candidate is veteran Bengali actress Sandhya Roy. Eminent singer Indranil Sen would try his luck from Berhampore in Murshidabad district.

The party Chairperson also announced that Bengali matinee idols and sitting MPs Satabdi Roy and Tapas Pal have been renominated from Birbhum and Krishnanagar constituencies respectively. Former Indian soccer captain Prasun Banerjee, who won the Howrah Lok Sabha seat in a bypoll last year, has got the renomination from the same seat.

National President of Trinamool Yuva president Abhishek Bandyopadhyay would fight the elections from Diamond Harbour in South 24 Parganas. In Raiganj of North Dinapur district, ailing Congress leader Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi`s brother Satyaranjan Dasmunshi would be pitted as a Trinamool candidate.

Trinamool has also announced candidates for Lok Sabha elections from Tripura, Manipur and Jharkhand. In Tripura East Vikuram Riyang has been nominated, while in Tripura West Ratan Chakraborty will be fighting the elections. In Manipur former MP Kim Gangte will fight from Manipur Hills seat while Sarangthem Manobi Singh will contest in Manipur Valley.

Bandhu Tirkey and Chamra Linda, who recently joined the party in Jharkhand, will fight in Ranchi and Lohardanga constituencies respectively.

Trinamool, which had won 19 of the 42 seats from the state in the 2009 elections, has fielded 11 women candidates this time. “Of the 42 seats in Bengal, we are fielding 11 women candidates, which perhaps is the highest. Seven candidates are from the minority community,” said Trinamool Chairperson.

Click here to see the complete list of candidates.