Latest News

July 6, 2019

Tourism committee to be set up in all districts

Tourism committee to be set up in all districts

To ensure a hassle-free travel experience for domestic as well as international tourists, the Tourism Department is coming up with a district tourism committees (DTC) in each of the 23 districts of the State.

 This decision was conveyed to the Assembly by the Tourism Minister on Tuesday, July 2 while delivering his department’s budget speech for 2019-20.

 Each DTC will have five members, with the district magistrate (DM) as the chairman, the district information and cultural officer (DICO) as member-secretary, another senior government official and two eminent persons from the district.

While reading out his department’s budget for financial year 2019-120 in the State Assembly on Tuesday, July 2, the Tourism Minister also laid out a list of several exciting projects that the government is targetting, among which are:


  • Development of Nabadwip and Cooch Behar as heritage sites
  • IIT Kharagpur being assigned the task of preparing a project report on the development of these sites
  • Projecting Gajoldoba in Jalpaiguri district as one of the biggest integrated tourism hubs in the country
  • Introducing cruise services till Mayapur, connecting Belur Math, where the evening puja (or sandhya arati) is a huge draw for people


The minister also informed the House that the total budget in the tourism sector for the ongoing fiscal is Rs 413.8 crore.

 Source: Millennium Post