Latest News

July 18, 2012

Chief Minister announces names of recipients for Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Awards 2012

Chief Minister announces names of recipients for Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Awards 2012

West Bengal Chief Minister Ms. Mamata Banerjee announces names of the recipients who will be receiving the Mahanayak Uttam Kumar Awards 2012 constituted by the West Bengal Government on the occasion of the death anniversary of Uttam Kumar on July 24. The state government under the leadership of Ms. Mamata Banerjee plans to honour the members of the fraternity on this day.

 Life Time Achievement Award –  Smt. Supriya Chatterjee, Smt. Sabitri Chaterjee and Soumitra Chatterjee for their contributions to Bengali cinema.

 Mahanayak Shamman – Sri. Mithun Chakrabarty

 Bishesh Chalachitra Puroshkar (Actress) –  Smt. Sumitra Sanyal, Smt. Anjana Bhowmik, Smt. Sandhya Roy, Smt. Dipti Roy, Smt. Sabita Basu, Smt. Madhabi Mukherjee, Smt. Lily Chakrabarty, Smt. Lalita Chatterjee, Smt. Mausumi Chatterjee, Smt. Debasree Roy, Smt. Satabdi Roy, Smt. Rituparna Sengupta and Smt. Indrani Haldar.

 Bishesh Chalachchitra Puroshkar (Actor) – Sri. Haradhan Banerjee, Sri. Nirmal Kumar,  Sri. Biswajeet Chatterjee, Sri. Ranjit Mullick, Sri. Deepankar Dey, Sri. Santu Mukherjee,

Sri. Tapas paul, Sri. Chiranjeet Chakrabarty and Sri. Prasenjit Chatterjee.

 Music Director – Sri. Ajay Das, Sri. Minal Banerjee, Sri. Ravindra Jain, Sri. Abhijit Banerjee, Sri. Anal Chatterjee, Sri. Debjyoti Mishra, Sri. Bappi Lahiri and Sri. Jeet Ganguly.

 `I wish I could also honour the legendary musicians like Salilda Shibdas babu or Pulak Bandyopadhyay but they are no more today. I will certainly recall their contributions and pay my respect`, said Ms. Mamata Banerjee.  

 Director – Sri. Arabinda Mukherjee, Sri. Hiren Nag, Sri. Gautam Ghosh, Sri. Brijesh Chatterjee and Sri. Prabhat Roy.

 Cinematographer – Sri. Ramananda Sengupta, Sri. Soumendu Roy, Sri. Kanai Dey and Sri. Shakti Banerjee.

 Screenplay – Sri. Shaktipada Rajguru and Sri. Prafulla Roy.

The Chief Minister on this occasion paid tributes to actor Rajesh Khanna who passed away on Wednesday after a prolonged illness. Ms. Banerjee recalled her association with the actor, `I am really feeling nostalgic today since I knew the person so closely. I had even invited him on one occasion for a programme`. She said that today the world has lost a great actor and an era come to an end with the demise of the actor but at the same time she said that the actor was unwell for a long time and was suffering from Cancer and though his demise has brought sadness yet the dearth has revealed him from the sufferings. Ms. Banerjee expressed her condolences to the bereaved family, `I know this is like a ritual on this occasion, may his soul rest in peace`.

Ms. Banerjee wrote on her facebook page `I am deeply anguished to learn of the sad demise of ‘first Superstar’ of Indian Cinema and the sensational romantic hero of the seventies, Rajesh Khanna after prolonged illness at Mumbai today. He entered in the films in the latter half of the 1960s. After initial success Rajesh Khanna achieved overnight super-stardom in 'Aradhana' in the year 1969. He won three 'Filmfare' awards. After retiring from films he joined politics and became Member of Lok Sabha in 1991. With his death we have lost a legendary actor. His death is an irrevocable loss to Indian Cinema. May his departed soul rest in peace`.  

In an re-joiner immediately after her PRESS conference Ms. Banerjee informed that she will be inaugurating `Dhano Dhonno Cultural Complex`, on the open area opposite the DM Bunglow at Alipore on Thursday (July 19, 2012). The park which is a tribute to Dwijendra Lal Roy.

Apart from that she informed that the Rabi Tirtha in the name of Rabindranath Tagore will be inaugurated on August 7, 2012