Latest News

October 23, 2013

CM holds first Cabinet Meeting at Nabanna

CM holds first Cabinet Meeting at Nabanna
During the first Cabinet meeting at Nabanna on Tuesday, West Bengal Chief Minister Ms. Banerjee asked the ministers about the extent of damage and losses in the flood-hit districts. Mr. Becharam Manna, MoS Agriculture provided a detailed account of the total damage. Mr. Manna said that 13 out of the 17 blocks in Hooghly had been hit by floods. Speaking on crop damage, Mr. Manna added that around 6,697 hectares of Aus paddy fields, 6,202 hectares of Boro paddy fields and 10 hectares of groundnut cultivation land were damaged. He pegged the losses at around Rs 15 crore. 
Earlier in the day, Ms. Banerjee met officials of the disaster management team, along with officers from the Agriculture department to take stock of the measures that are being implemented to bail out farmers in flood-affected districts. 
Meanwhile, Ms. Banerjee formed a six-member committee headed by State Finance Minister Mr. Amit Mitra was set up to ensure plantation of medicinal plants in the state. This was in line with her commitment to lay greater stress on alternative forms of medicine.
The state Cabinet also approved the formation of a new department – Tribal Development – and creation of 11 posts. The department, carved out from the Backward Classes Welfare (BCW) department, will deal with matters related to tribals and monitor the existing schemes and funds sanctioned for the same.
The Cabinet has also approved the creation of three new posts in Kolkata Police, namely Assistant Commissioner of Police (non-investigation), Assistant Commissioner of Police (investigation) and Assistant Commissioner of Police (women).
That apart, the Cabinet passed the West Bengal Medical Education Service Rules 2013, the West Bengal Health Service Rules 2013 and West Bengal Public Health Cum Administrative Service (placement on trainee, reserve) Rules 2013.  
The Cabinet also approved recruitment of two joint registrars for Calcutta High Court`s appellate division. A secretary will be appointed for the Legal Service Committee.