Bengal Chhatro-Yubo Utsav 2016-17 to start from January 3

The month long West Bengal Chhatro-Yubo Utsav 2016-17, organised by the State Youth Welfare department will start from January 7, 2017 and continue till February 9, 2017.

To be held all over the State, the three-tier cultural competitions in different aspects will be held from January 3-5, 2017 in municipalities, municipal areas, notified areas and borough levels.

The district level competitions will be held in-between January 19-21, 2017. The State level competitions will be held from February 7-9, 2017.

The contestants will receive all support from the block, municipality, borough or district Youth department office.


৩ জানুয়ারি থেকে শুরু হবে পশ্চিমবঙ্গ রাজ্য ছাত্র-যুব উৎসব ২০১৬-২০১৭


মাননীয়া মুখ্যমন্ত্রী মমতা বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়ের অনুপ্রেরণায় পশ্চিমবঙ্গ সরকারের যুব কল্যাণ দপ্তর আয়োজন করেছে পশ্চিমবঙ্গ রাজ্য ছাত্র-যুব উৎসব ২০১৬-২০১৭।

সারা রাজ্য জুড়ে তিনটি স্তরে সাংস্কৃতিক প্রতিযোগিতা ও অনুষ্ঠান আয়োজিত হবে।

ব্লক/মিউনিসিপালিটি/মিউনিসিপ্যাল কর্পোরেশন/ নোটিফায়েড এলাকা বোরো স্তরে এই উৎসব চলবে ৩-৫ জানুয়ারি পর্যন্ত।

জেলা স্তরে এই উৎসব চলবে ১৯-২১ জানুয়ারি পর্যন্ত। রাজ্য স্তরে এই উৎসব চলবে ৭-৯ ফেব্রুয়ারি পর্যন্ত।


Everyone wants to be a part of Mamata Banerjee’s developmental agenda: Abhishek Banerjee

Trinamool Congress on Sunday wrested the Behrampore municipality from the Congress after three decades. Seventeen councillors from INC joined Trinamool in the 28-member strong Behrampore municipality. Trinamool’s strength in the municipality now stands at 18.

Trinamool Youth Congress President and MP Abhishek Banerjee announced the joining of the Congress councilors at Trinamool Bhavan. He said that more councillors of the Congress from two other municipalities will soon join Trinamool Congress.

“People are accepting the ideology of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee. Congress councillors who joined the Trinamool said that they have full confidence in Banerjee for her initiative to develop the state,” he said.

The TMYC President said that Congress will be nowhere in Murshidabad as people believe that the TMC is the real Congress and Mamata Banerjee is the ideal leader. “The Congress has become a Marxist party,” he said. “The Congress’ decision to align with the CPI-M during the last Assembly polls had proved to be a political suicide as the rank and file of the Congress did not accept the alliance. By the end of this year, there would be no sign of political presence of Congress and CPI-M in Bengal, Abhishek said.

“While people have rejected this unholy alliance, those who are joining TMC want to be part of the development process started by Mamata Banerjee,” he said.


সকলেই মমতা বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়ের উন্নয়নের যজ্ঞে সামিল হতে চান: অভিষেক বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়

দীর্ঘ তিন দশক পর গত রবিবার কংগ্রেসের হাত থেকে বহরমপুর পুরসভার দখল নিল তৃণমূল। তৃণমূল যুব কংগ্রেসের সভাপতি ও মাননীয় সাংসদ অভিষেক ব্যানার্জীর উপস্থিতিতে এদিন ১৭ জন কংগ্রেস কাউন্সিলর যোগ দেন তৃণমূলে। ২৮ সদস্যের এই পুরসভায় এই মুহূর্তে তৃণমূলের কাউন্সিলর সংখ্যা হল ১৮ জন।

অভিষেক ব্যানার্জি বলেন মুর্শিদাবাদ জেলার আরও দুটি পুরসভার আরো অনেক কংগ্রেস কাউন্সিলর খুব শীঘ্রই তৃণমূলে যোগ দেবেন।

তিনি জানান, মানুষ মমতা ব্যানার্জীর আদর্শে অনুপ্রাণিত। যে সকল কংগ্রেস কাউন্সিলর তৃণমূলে যোগ দিলেন তাদের পূর্ণ আস্থা আছে মমতা ব্যানার্জীর উন্নয়নমূলক কর্মযজ্ঞে।

অভিষেক বলেন, “মুর্শিদাবাদে কংগ্রেসের অস্তিত্ব থাকবে না, কারণ মানুষ বুঝে গেছেন তৃণমূল হল আসল কংগ্রেস ও মমতা ব্যানার্জী হলেন আদর্শ নেত্রী। কংগ্রেস সিপিএমের দোসরে পরিণত হয়েছে। বিধানসভা ভোটে কংগ্রেসের বামপন্থীদের সঙ্গে জোট করার নীতি আত্মঘাতী ছিল যা কংগ্রেসিরা গ্রহণ করেননি। সিপিআইএম ও কংগ্রেসের অস্তিত্ব বাংলা থেকে মুছে যাবে।”

WB Govt organises three-phased Chhatro-Yuva Utsav

The Youth Services Dept of the West Bengal Government is organising the Chhatro-Yuva Utsav like every year. Conceptualized by the West Bengal Chief Minister Ms Mamata Banerjee, the student-youth festival received tremendous impulse even from the remote areas of Jangalmahal.

Competitions and different cultural activities will be held at three levels: blocks and boroughs, district and state level.

The three phased festival that kicked off on December 10, 2015 will first be held at block/ municipality/ corporation/ notified area and borough level, till December 15, 2015.

From December 20-23, the competitions will be held at district level and from January 2-4, 2016, competitions will be held at state level.

Opposition engaging in undemocratic acts due to fear of losing: Partha Chatterjee

Condemning the incidents of violence against the media, Trinamool Secretary General Partha Chatterjee today said that the Chief Minister is inquiring into those incidents.

“The work of media is to gather news. They have to do it,” he said. He said that people gave Trinamool the responsibility to run the State and as ruling party they do not endorse violence.

“The Opposition has no public support. Their actions in recent past are anti-democracy. Mamata Banerjee is working tirelessly for the all-round development of the State. People have faith in her,” he added.

“Those who have been rejected by the people are trying to become heroes in front of the camera. People will give a fitting reply,” Partha Chatterjee said.

The elections for Bidhannagar-Rajarhat Municipal Corporation, Asansol Municipal Corporation, bypoll for Howrah Municipal election at Bally and Siliguri Mahakuma Parishad elections were held today.

Polling percentage till 3 PM:

Bidhannagar: 60%
Asansol: 56%
Bally: 53.2%
Siliguri: 59%

Trinamool wins uncontested in three municipalities

Trinamool Congress has maintained its winning streak even before the polling of municipality elections in many districts. Saturday being the last day for filing nominations, Trinamool Congress has won uncontested in the three municipalities at Arambagh, Gayeshpur and Tarakeshwar.

Trinamool candidates have won uncontested in around 58 seats across the 91 municipalities in the state.

Trinamool Congress won in the majority of the wards of  the three municipalities after the opposition withdrew nomination in 47 of 52 wards – ­ 16 of 19 in Arambagh, 14 of 15 in Tarakeswar and 17 of 18 in Gayeshpur, thus maintaining majority in all these three municipalities.

In Kanthi and Gangarampur municipalities, Trinamool won uncontested in two wards while in Halishahar, TMC won unopposed in 6 wards.

In Bhatpara, Trinamool Congress candidates Arjun Singh and Anil Kumar Singh won the wards nos 17 and 18 respectively.

Trinamool announces names of municipal election candidates for 4 districts

Trinamool Congress has announced its candidates for the forthcoming Municipal elections to be held in April 2015 across West Bengal.

Apart from Kolkata, the candidature listof which was already announced last week, list for the following places have also been finalised:

• Five wards for 24 Parganas (South)

• Six wards in Murshidabad

• Siliguri in Darjeeling

• Egra in Purba Medinipur

• Kathi in Purba Medinipur

• 24 Parganas (North)

The list of candidates for Hooghly, Nadia and Birbhum districts will be announced shortly.

Election in the districts will be held on 25 April 2015 and 25 March 2015 is the last date for filing nomination. Results will be out on 28 April 2015 for all the districts including Kolkata. Campaigning has already started for the constituencies whose candidate’s names have already been announced including putting up of posters, election graffiti etc.