Latest News

January 19, 2014

Uttar Kanya to house 18 departments

Uttar Kanya to house 18 departments

The mini secretariat for North Bengal will house 18 state government departments, with powers to approve funds and projects for the six districts in the region. Chief Minister Ms. Mamata Banerjee will inaugurate the mini secretariat on 20 January.

According to sources at Nabanna, the 18 departments to be housed in Uttar Kanya are Agriculture, Animal Resources Development, Backward Classes Welfare, Cooperation, Commerce and Industry, Finance, Hill Affairs, Health & Family Welfare, Housing, Labour, Municipal Affairs, Minority Affairs & Madrasah Education, Micro & Small Scale Enterprises & Textiles, Public Works Department, School Education, Transport, Women & Social Welfare and the North Bengal Development Department.

Besides these, there will also be a wing of the Chief Minister`s Office (CMO) having separate chambers for the CM and her secretariat staff.

The 18 departments at the mini secretariat will be headed by officers in the rank of joint secretary to additional secretary and they will be delegated the powers to approve funds and projects. The state Personnel & Administrative Reforms department is finalising a list of such officers who will be deputed from Kolkata to the mini secretariat.

Besides this, the minister concerned of the 18 departments will also divide their time between their offices in Kolkata and the North Bengal mini secretariat. “The minister will visit Siliguri at least once a month if not more. This will hopefully expedite the process of decision making and implementation,” an official at Nabanna said.