Latest News

January 7, 2014

All Ministers and Govt officials to be in villages today for rural road network project

All Ministers and Govt officials to be in villages today for rural road network project

West Bengal is all set to witness a unique movement – a brainchild of the Chief Minister Ms. Mamata Banerjee. `Didi`, as we all know her, has conceived a novel idea for developing village roads. Today, roads will be created in 35,000 villages across the state simultaneously.  The Chief Minister herself will participate in this grand exercise by laying the foundation of a road in Amlashole, assisted by the locals.

During Left Front rule, Amlashole made international headlines for starvation deaths; now, two-and-a-half-years after regime change in the state, the spectre has changed – the villagers get rice through the public distribution system at Rs 2 per kg, the village has got roads, and drinking water facilities have reached the people.

Last month, Chief Minister had announced that her government was undertaking a unique initiative to develop rural connectivity, especially the farm-road network in all the 3349 Gram Panchayats of the State.

The Chief Minister has instructed all the 43 Ministers of the state cabinet, all the secretaries, government officials and Zilla Sabhadhipatis to come out of their comfort zones and visit villages more often. MPs and MLAs of Trinamool Congress have also been asked to participate in this endeavour.

Who will be where:

Ms. Mamata Banerjee:        Amlashole, West Midnapore
Dr Amit Mitra:                        Bilkanda-1, Barrackpore 2 Block, North 24 Parganas
Subrata Mukherjee:            Sagar, South 24 Parganas
Partha Chatterjee:               Aamtala, South 24 Parganas
Jyotipriya Mullick:               Ichapur Nilganj, North 34 Parganas
Madan Mitra:                         Bilkanda-1, North 24 Parganas
Rajib Banerjee:                    Jagadishpur, Howrah
Shankar Chakraborty:       Hili, Dakshin Dinajpur
Moloy Ghtak:                        Baraboni, Bardhaman
Ujjwal Biswas:                     Dhubulia -2, North 24 Parganas
Chandrima Bhattacharya: Bilkanda-2, North 24 Parganas
Purnendu Bose:                  Rajarhat, North 24 Parganas
Aroop Roy:                           Shyampur, Howrah
Rachpal Singh:                    Tarakeshwar, Hooghly

Never before in the history of this country has such an initiative been taken.Two messages by the Chief Minister are clear from this initiative. Firstly, she means business when she talks about bring pace into the development work and letting go of laggardness. Secondly, she wants to create a bridge between the administration and the common people.