Latest News

August 19, 2015

Trinamool forms seven-member committee for poll-related logistics

Trinamool forms seven-member committee for poll-related logistics

Trinamool Chairperson Mamata Banerjee handed over the reins of all key pre-poll logistics to a collective team, which will steer the party towards the 2016 assembly elections. Trinamool Congress will have a seven-member committee to do it.

The Trinamool Congress Chairperson announced that all poll-related logistics will now be supervised by Yrinamool All India General Secretary Subrata Bakshi, Secretary-general Partha Chatterjee, senior leaders Subhendu Adhikari , Aroop Biswas and Firhad Hakim, South 24 Parganas District head Sovan Chatterjee Sovan Chatterjee and Trinamool Youth Congress President Abhishek Banerjee.

The party All India General Secretary said, “According to the EC directive, registration of new voters and deletion inclusion of new voters will take place within this three-month window in September-December. It is imperative that the work starts at the Block level. The various forms have been provided for additions, deletion of names and change of addresses. For any bulk deletion or anomalies of voters it should be immediately brought to our notice. We will take it up with EC.” he explained the rationale, “It to be seen that not a single person who had voted for Mamata Banerjee – and Trinamool Congress — is omitted out of the final rolls.”

Trinamool South 24 Parganas District head Sovan Chatterjee said, “The Chairperson had pointed out to me several times in the run-up to the KMC polls of mass deletion of voters. We too came across several people who said they had to return from the polling booth after their names got deleted from the electoral rolls. This can’t be allowed. If the problems are pointed out to us in time, we will fight out the cases with the EC. But once the deadline is over, nothing can be done. So the exercise has to be down with due diligence.”

The meeting at Nazrul Mancha was attended by MPs, MLAs, Ministers, zilla sabhadhipatis and block and district presidents.