Latest News

July 31, 2013

Trinamool Congress may win 30 Lok Sabha seats out of 42 in the State

Trinamool Congress may win 30 Lok Sabha seats out of 42 in the State
The panchayat election verdict comes across as a highly significant indicator, favouring of the Trinamool Congress Government in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Expert analysis says that the panchayat poll results reflect that Trinamool Congress may win 30 Lok Sabha seats out of 42 in the State. The Left might prove to be a strong contender for 8-9 seats, whereas for the Congress holds a chance of no more than 3-4 seats. 
According to Trinamool leadership’s predictions of the 3 tier panchayat election 2013, AITMC would win 13 districts, Left and Congress were to get 1 each and in the rest 2, a coalition was expected. This prediction came out to be absolutely accurate compared to the CPM and the Congress forecast that did not see AITMC winning in more than 8-9 districts. The ground reality has triggered shock waves across the opposition parties, and has provided the Maa, Mati, Manush Govt. all the reasons to rejoice.
AITMC Chairpersons Ms Mamata Banerjee called upon a meeting with the AITMC MPs yesterday itself and instructed them to devote more time to their respective constituencies. She discussed the forthcoming Lok Sabha election and recommended that it be held in the winters. Moreover she underlined that there is no scope for repose, in fact, an immediate evaluation has to be made to analyze why AITMC has not fared well in some constituencies. More work has to be done in those places to win over people’s heart.
Trinamool Congress has essentially gained a sweeping victory in South Bengal which was a strong hold of the Left. In West Medinipur, CPM had 56 Zilla Parishad seats in 2008 whereas in 2013 AITMC captured 54.  In Bankura the Left did not get any seat out of 43 Zilla Parishad seats whereas AITMC has occupied 41 seats. In Purulia the Left previously captured 30 seats whereas AITMC has captured 31. Similarly in Hoogly, Howrah, Bardhaman, North 24 Pargana the picture has turned in favour of the AITMC.
Not only South, even North Bengal almost entirely belongs to the AITMC. In Cooch Behar where the CMP held 27 seats out of 29, AITMC has captured 27 out of 33 this time. In South Dinajpur AITMC have 13 seats out of 17 where CPM previously had all and congress had 1. In Maldah and North Dinajpur too AITMC played an important role in the formation of the Zilla Parishad. The Congress Union Minister from Raiganj will be unable to win without a coalition with the AITMC.
The people’s verdict has shunned all critiques and has added another feather in the cap of the Maa, Mati, Manush Government.