Latest News

July 25, 2013

Chief Minister gives away Chalacchitra Awards at the programme Uttam Kumar Swarane

Chief Minister gives away Chalacchitra Awards at the programme Uttam Kumar Swarane

Chief Minister gave away Chalacchitra Awards at the programme Uttam Kumar Swarane organized by the State Government on the Death Anniversary of the legendary matinee idol at Nazrul Mancha.

Here are the excerpst from her Facebook post –

Uttam Kumar – the name is ever vibrant in the hearts of millions of Bengali cine lovers across all generations. His charisma is beyond emulation. His personality is all-encompassing. The immortal roles he played transformed him to a living legend, the indisputable greatest-ever actor to dominate the Bengali filmdom.

He was the `Mahanayak` of Tollywood. His towering stature in the film industry poised him like a bridge between Tollywood, Bollywood and Hollywood.

On the 24th of July, 1980, Uttam Kumar passed away, creating an irretrievable void in the hearts of his countless lovers, admirers and followers.

After our Government assumed office, as a mark of our tribute to the legendary Uttam Kumar, 24th July has come to be reckoned as a very special day – the day we honour the great men and women of the cinema world for their outstanding contribution to our lives, society and culture.

Like previous year, this year we have honoured 50 film personalities and entities with a set of prestigious awards, christened after the greatest celebrity of all times in our hearts, the one and only Uttam Kumar.

The awardees are:

For lifetime achievement

Madhabi Mukhopadhyay
Sandhya Roy
Dipankar De
Ranjit Mullick
Goutam Ghosh

Mahanayak Award 2013

Tapas Pal
Prasenjit Chattopadhyay

Special Film Award


Saswata Chatterjee
Mamata Shankar
Laboni Sarkar
Nayana Das
Sudipta Chakrabarti
Ananya Chatterjee
Rachana Banerjee
Swastika Mukherjee
Rajesh Sharma
Parambrata Chatterjee
Jishu Sengupta
Subhasish Mukherjee
Koel Mullick
Raima Sen
Churni Ganguly

Music Director

Suparnokanti Ghosh
Prateek Chowdhury
Indradip Dasgupta
Anupam Roy


Sandip Ray
Koushik Ganguly
Srijit Mukherjee
Sujit Guha
Raj Chakrabarti


Aveek Mukhopadhyay
Barun Mukherjee


Arghyakamal Mitra
Rabiranjan Moitra

Art Director

Nitish Roy


New Theatres Private Limited
Arora Film Corporation Private Ltd.
Sri Venkatesh Films Private Limited
R D Bansal and Company

Sound Recording

Anup Mukherjee
Sushanta Banerjee

Make-up Artist

Anup Ganguly

Special Award

Chinmoy Roy
Partha Mukherjee

At a glittering ceremony in Nazul Mancha today, we gave away these awards to the recipients. A lively cultural program was presented after the award-giving ceremony. Some pictures of the event are uploaded for all of you to see.

Mahanayak still thrills. The legendary hero would be in our hearts in eternal perpetuity.