Latest News

June 29, 2011

Presidency University Mentor Group formed, committee named

Presidency University Mentor Group formed, committee named

Kolkata, June 29: Dr. Sugata Basu, Chairman, Presidency Mentor Group met Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee today and announced eight names of the ten member committee to be formed for the development and bring back the lost glory of the Presidency University. Dr. Basu today met the CM at the Writers Building to discuss issues regarding the committee.  The committee will comprise renowned educationists located in parts of world. Prof. Amartya Sen will act as an advisor to Dr. Basu.

The Committee:

Dr. Sugata Basu, Chairman

Prof. Amartya Sen, Advisor to Chairman

Dr. I J Ahluwaliah

Dr. Abhijeet Banerjee

Prof. Swapan Chakraborty

Prof. Sukanta Chowdhury

Prof. Himadri Pakrashi

Prof. Ashok Sen

The first meeting of this committee is scheduled to happen during the first week of July in the presence of the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Prof. Amartya Sen.