Latest News

June 10, 2011

Government forms 10-Member Education Panel

Government forms 10-Member Education Panel


Kolkata, June 9: As announced earlier, the state government on Thursday constituted a 10-member committee to suggest ways to overhaul higher education in Bengal. It will be chaired by eminent educationist Sunanda Sanyal. 

State Higher Education Minister Bratya Basu said the committee had been formed on Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's directive. 

Among other committee members are economist Abhirup Sarkar, IIM-C professor Anup Sinha, Harvard professor Sugato Basu – who is also the chairman of the mentor committee in Presidency University, Emeritus Professor of Jadavpur University Sukanta Chaudhury, Director of Indian Institute of Science and Education Research Sushanta Dutta Gupta, former bureaucrat Debabrata Bandyopadhyay, Bidhannagar College teacher Ashokendu Sengupta, Dean of IIT-Kharagpur  Partha Pratim Chakraborty and Jeta Sankrityayan, physics teacher of North Bengal University. 

"They will suggest methods to improve the functioning of colleges and universities. They will also suggest changes, if required, in the existing acts and laws governing higher educational institutions," the minister said. 

The committee will make suggestions to the government on issues regarding framing of syllabi, the admission criteria to various courses in colleges and universities, recruitment of teachers from the entry level till senior positions and changes, if necessary, in the examination system.

The committee will submit its report to the CM and higher education minister within the next three months.