Latest News

November 30, 2011

Peaceful election held, 51.55 % vote registered in By-Poll

Peaceful election held, 51.55 % vote registered in By-Poll

AITMC Web Team, Kolkata, Nov 30: Peaceful election was held for the Kolkata (S) Lok Sabha By-Elections on Wednesday. The seat fell vacant after the resignation of Chief Minister Ms. Mamata Banerjee from the Lok Sabha after being elected in the West Bengal Assembly.

Mr. Subrata Baksi who won by a margin of 49,963 votes  in May vacated his Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha seat for Ms. Banerjee to contest from his Bhwanipur seat as Ms. Banerjee was required to contest the Legislative election according to constitution. Ms. Banerjee won by a margin of 54,213 votes.  Mr. Baksi’s name was suggested by Ms. Banerjee to contest the Kolkata (S) Lok Sabha by-elections.

Polling was held across 1902 booths, nearly 15 lakhs electorates exercised their franchise. In the first three hours, only 19.37 % of the 15.6 lakh voters had turned up. According to the State Chief Electoral Officer, Mr. Sunil Gupta the poling was peaceful. Mr. Gupta informed that nearly 51.55 per cent polling was reported from Kolkata (S) Lok Sabha by-elections.

Incidentally, Ms. Banerjee defeated left front candidate by a margin of 219301 votes, 57.2% of the total votes(576,045 votes) in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections. Out of 1505638 voters, 1,007,225 exercised their polling rights. The vote % was around 66.89.

The results will be declared on December 4.