Mamata Banerjee meets newly elected councillors, announces names of Mayor

Trinamool Chairperson Mamata Banerjee today met all the new councillors at Khudiram Anushilan Kendra.

The winning councillors were directed by party All India General Secretary Subrata Bakshi to attend the programme.

Trinamool has emerged victorious in the controversy-ridden October 3 polls with a significantly increased vote-share.

The party won all 16 seats in Bally with a vote share of 76%. At Bidhannagar, Trinamool won 37 out of 41 seats securing a vote share of 62%. In Asansol, the party won 46% votes, winning 74 out of 106 wards.

Mamata Banerjee announced that Sabyasachi Datta would be the Mayor of Bidhannagar while Jitendra Tewary would be the Mayor of Asansol.

TMC sweeps civic polls, victory of development over disruptive politics says party

The Trinamool Congress made a clean sweep of the three civic bodies, including the high profile Bidhannagar-Rajarhat municipal corporation, the Asansol municipal corporation and the Bally-Howrah municipal corporation – the results for which were declared today.

The victories reiterate the Trinamool Congress’ continuing hold over urban electorate. The scale and margin of the victories were some indication that the opposition political space has shrunk to a great extent and the Trinamool Congress’s supremacy was still unchallenged – four and half years after it had come to power in 2011. The state goes for the assembly elections middle of 2016.

Final Tally:

Bidhannagar – TMC wins in 37 out of 41 wards

Asansol – TMC wins in 75 out of 106 wards

Bally – TMC wins in all 16 wards


Vote Share:

Bidhannagar – 62%

Asansol – 46%

Bally – 75%


Reaction of Partha Chatterjee on today’s verdict:

  • The civil society and people at large have reposed their faith on Trinamool in the Corporation Election
  • We are thankful to the people for placing their trust on TMC. Our responsibilities have increased now
  • People have democratically rejected the politics of disruption, violence and bandhs. They have voted for development
  • People have witnessed widespread development in the last four years. Support for Mamata Banerjee is surging


Reaction of Subrata Mukherjee on today’s verdict:

  • People have not forgotten anarchy, violence & misrule of 34 years. They have given a reply in today’s polls
  • Today’s victory is a historic one. This shows people across all sections of society support Mamata Banerjee
  • There cannot be politics without people. Opposition leaders can only be seen in TV studios

Education Minister announces college poll dates

The state Education Minister Partha Chatterjee today announced that elections to all the 488 colleges in the state will be held in January. Immediately after this, the Calcutta University authorities issued a notification in this regard.

While the students’ union election for Calcutta University has been fixed on 17th January, the election for other Kolkata colleges under CU will be held on three phases – 17, 19 and 21 January. The CU-affiliated colleges of Hooghly, South 24-Parganas and Howrah will hold their elections on 28 January.

It was also decided that for colleges under Kolkata police area, the additional officer in charge (OC) will be the liaison officer and he will monitor the entire students’ union election process in the colleges. CU authorities have urged respective district magistrates to provide adequate security arrangements to avoid any untoward incident.