10 more fire stations to come up across Bengal by end of 2018

To boost the firefighting infrastructure in the state, the Fire and Emergency Services Department will set up 10 more fire stations across the state by the end of 2018.

Some of the places where the fire stations would come up are Madhyamgram and Lalkuthi (Barrackpore) in North 24 Parganas district, Kakdwip in South 24 Parganas district, Contai in Purba Medinipur district and Dankuni in Hooghly district.

It may be mentioned that there are 131 fire stations in the 23 districts of the state. So, by the end of the year, the number would rise to 141.



২০১৮ সালের মধ্যে আরও ১০টি দমকল কেন্দ্র রাজ্যে

অগ্নি নির্বাপণ পরিকাঠামোকে আরও মজবুত করতে ফায়ার অ্যান্ড ইমার্জেন্সি সার্ভিসেস ডিপার্টমেন্ট আরও ১০টি দমকল কেন্দ্র তৈরী করবে রাজ্য জুড়ে।

এই ১০টি জায়গার মধ্যে আছে উত্তর ২৪ পরগনা জেলার মধ্যমগ্রাম, ব্যারাকপুরের লালকুঠি, দক্ষিণ ২৪ পরগনা জেলার কাকদ্বীপ, পূর্ব মেদিনীপুরের কাঁথি, হুগলী জেলার ডানকুনি।

প্রসঙ্গত, রাজ্যের ২৩টি জেলায় ১৩১টি দমকল কেন্দ্র আছে। ২০১৮ সালের শেষে এই সংখ্যা ১৪১য়ে পৌঁছবে।

Source: Millennium Post

Bengal to get 10 more women police stations

10 more women police stations are coming up in West Bengal besides the existing 20.

The West Bengal Chief Minister had targeted to set up 65 such police stations across the State.  The government has approved the establishment of 330 posts under various categories for the new police stations. A woman police officer will head each of these police stations and majority of the other ranks will constitute of women also.

In the first phase 20 women police stations were set up at Howrah, Barasat, Baruipur, Asansol, Jhargram, Contai, Chinsurah, Krishnanagar, Siliguri and Jalpaiguri Sadar, sub-divisional headquarters of Burdwan Sadar, Medinipur Sadar, Purulia Sadar, Bankura Sadar, Darjeeling Sadar, Sreerampore (Hooghly), Suri (Birbhum), English Bazar (Malda), Diamond Harbour (South 24-Parganas) and Barrackpore (North 24-Parganas) have got such stations. Now, 10 new stations have opened at Bidhannagar and Durgapur Commissionerate, Cooch Behar, Balurghat, Raiganj, Berhampore, Kharagpur, Haldia, Uluberia and Arambag.  With these new stations the total number of all women police stations has reached to 30.

WB CM Ms Mamata Banerjee has been working relentlessly for the safety of women across the State. It was her idea to have all women police stations in the state to combat women related crimes. In a police station where women will not only feel free and safe to report criminal cases against them, but where such cases will also be dealt with immense sensitivity and compassion.

In another innovative step, the West Bengal Government is launching a special police cell to deal with highway accidents. This cell will be known as ‘Highway Traffic Police’. Along with investigating accident cases on highways, they will also take prompt action so that accident victims get immediate medical attention and effective rescue missions.