New police commissionerate to be set up in Hooghly district

The Bengal Government is planning to set up a police commissionerate in Hooghly district. It is expected that the new police commissionerate will be named Chandannagar Police Commissionerate.  This will be the sixth police commissionerate in Bengal after the change-of-guard in the state after Howrah, Bidhannagar, Barrackpore, Asansol-Durgapur and Siliguri police commissionerates.

As many as nine police stations including Bhadreswar, Rishra, Serampore, Chinsura, Dankuni and two women police stations will be under the police commissionerate. The remaining 17, including a woman police station, will remain under the jurisdiction of the state police that will be headed by the Superintendent of Police.

The proposal was mooted to ensure better policing in the area and the bifurcation has been done in such a manner that all the police stations under the jurisdiction of the proposed police commissionerate are along the river Hooghly.

According to plans, the headquarters of the police commissionerate will be Chinsura while the headquarters of the Hooghly rural part will be Singur. After Trinamool Congress took charge of the Government, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had taken steps to set up separate police commissionerates in urban parts of the districts.  At the same time, the area that was under the jurisdiction of Kolkata Police was also doubled.


হুগলী জেলায় একটি নতুন পুলিশ কমিশনারেট গঠন করছে রাজ্য সরকার  

রাজ্যের আইন শৃঙ্খলা পরিস্থিতি আরও ভালোভাবে রক্ষণাবেক্ষণের জন্য আরও একটি নতুন কমিশনারেট গঠনের সিদ্ধান্ত নিয়েছে রাজ্য সরকার। হুগলী জেলা থেকে আলাদা করে তৈরী হচ্ছে চন্দননগর পুলিশ কমিশনারেট, এটি ষষ্ঠ পুলিশ কমিশনারেট। ইতিমধ্যেই ৫টি পুলিশ কমিশনারেট রয়েছে রাজ্যে। এগুলি হল – হাওড়া, বিধাননগর, ব্যারাকপুর, আসানসোল-দুর্গাপুর এবং শিলিগুড়ি কমিশনারেট।

এই নতুন পুলিশ কমিশনারেটের অধীনে রয়েছে চুঁচুড়া, ভদ্রেশ্বর, শ্রীরামপুর, রিষড়া সহ ৭ টি থানা ও ২ টি মহিলা থানা। পাশাপাশি হুগলী জেলা গ্রামীণে থাকবে অবশিষ্ট ১৭ টি থানা যার মধ্যে ১টি মহিলা থানা।

হুগলী জেলার আইন-শৃঙ্খলা পরিস্থিতি ভালোভাবে রক্ষণাবেক্ষণের জন্যই এই সিদ্ধান্ত নিয়েছে রাজ্য সরকার ।

পরিকল্পনা অনুযায়ী, এই নতুন কমিশনারেটের হেড কোয়ার্টার হবে চুঁচুড়ায়। হুগলী জেলা পুলিশের সদর দপ্তর তৈরী হবে সিঙ্গুরে। তৃণমূল কংগ্রেস ক্ষমতায় আসার পর মমতা বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায় রাজ্যের আইন শৃঙ্খলা পরিস্থিতি উন্নত করার লক্ষ্যে জেলার বিভিন্ন প্রত্যন্ত অঞ্চলে আলাদা আলাদা পুলিশ কমিশনারেট তৈরীর উদ্যোগ নিয়েছেন। এর পাশাপাশি, কলকাতা পুলিশ আওতাধীন এলাকাও দ্বিগুণ করা হয়েছে।



WB Government receives proposals for 13 new townships

The West Bengal Government has received proposals for approval of 13 new townships across the state. Keeping in mind the various needs of the people, these proposals have come to build the townships under various themes like health, education, entertainment, handicrafts and even for senior citizens etc. These townships will have all basic facilities from healthcare, education and various other needs for day to day life.

The proposals have been received from all local entrepreneurs and the sites selected by them are Sonarpur, Baruipur, Barasat, Howrah, Domjur etc. The State Government is also promoting other areas in the state like Baharampur, Uluberia, Chinsura, Chandannagar, Duttapukur, Asansol, Durgapur, Siliguri, Maldah etc.  For these areas, the Government is thinking of giving special packages and the matter is now under the consideration of Urban Development Minister.

The new 13 proposals will be built on land measuring 50 to 185 acres and is expected to get their go ahead in the next Cabinet meeting.

From the very beginning the West Bengal Government had made it very clear the interested investors have to procure land on their own and the Government will also not handover any of its land located in various prime localities.

The two important criteria to be maintained while building these townships as set by the West Bengal Government are 25% of the housing facility should be reserved for the financially weaker section of the society and another 25% have to be invested in economic development projects.