Latest News

July 20, 2017

Looking back at July 21, 1993

Looking back at July 21, 1993

The July 21 Martyrs’ Day rally (Ekushe July Shahid Dibas) is organised by All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) in remembrance of the 13 political activists shot dead by the Bengal Police in Kolkata during a protest movement led by Mamata Banerjee on that day in 1993.

The current Chief Minister, who was a firebrand Opposition leader back then, had organised Writers’ Chalo Abhiyan (March to Writers’ Building), demanding that the voters’ identity card be made the only valid document to verify voters in order to stop the rampant ‘scientific rigging’. Writers’ Building was then the State Secretariat.

Bloody history

The party workers gathered at five different points across Kolkata on that fateful day. They began marching towards their destination along Brabourne Road and were stopped by a large contingent of police officials near the Tea Board office, barely few minutes away from the Writers’ Building. The police force started beating up the crowd mercilessly in order to drive them away from the vicinity of the State Secretariat.

The youth activists, who were peacefully rallying, refused to stop and walked ahead. Many rounds of teargas shells were fired but the supporters kept moving forward. The police went berserk and did not even spare Mamata Banerjee while beating the youth activists black and blue. People started running across Curzon Park. The police opened fire, killing 13 supporters and leaving hundreds severely injured.

Since then, an annual rally has been held on this day every year, dedicated to the memory of these 13 martyrs.

Remembering martyrs

On the political significance of this day, the Trinamool Congress Chairperson Mamata Banerjee writes in her book, My Unforgettable Memories:

“It is the day when we remember and offer our respect to the hundreds of people who are fighting death every day, whose lives are a living death, who have lost life and limb in this struggle. For us, it is a day of sorrow and shame.”

“Ever since 1993, every year July 21 brings back excruciating pain and agony to our memory, of the barbaric act of violence and brutal firing meted out by the previous Left Front government”, recalls the Trinamool Chairperson.

“The voice of democratic demand raised in a peaceful procession was stifled with bullets and violence… Every year, 21st July is dedicated to the ‘Shahid family’ (martyrs family) belonging to different democratic movements”, the Trinamool Congress Chairperson said.

“Let us bow our heads down, pay obeisance and remember their invaluable sacrifice and also take a pledge to rededicate ourselves to continue to fight for the cause of ‘Maa Mati Manush’ and build a harmonious, peaceful and prosperous Bengal”, she said.

The following is the list of the persons who died on 21 July 1993:


Srikanta Sharma

Bandhan Das

Dilip Das

Asim Das

Keshab Bairagi

Biswanath Roy

Kalyan Banerjee

Pradip Roy

Ratan Mondal

Murari Chakraborty

Ranajit Das

Abdul Khalek



ফিরে দেখা রক্তাক্ত ১৯৯৩ এর ২১শে জুলাই

প্রতি বছর ২১শে জুলাই শহীদ দিবস পালন করে সর্বভারতীয় তৃণমূল কংগ্রেস। ১৯৯৩ সালের ২১শে জুলাই ১৩ জন যুবক প্রাণ হারায় পুলিশের গুলিতে।।

নির্বাচনী প্রক্রিয়ায় সচিত্র ভোটার কার্ড বাধ্যতামূলক করার দাবিতে ‘রাইটার্স চলো অভিযানের’ ডাক দিয়েছিলেন নেত্রী মমতা বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়।

রক্তাক্ত ইতিহাস

ওই দিন দলের কর্মীরা কলকাতার পাঁচটি অঞ্চলে জমায়েত হন। তাঁরা সকলে ব্রেবোর্ণ রোড ধরে এগোতে শুরু করেন মহাকরণের উদ্দেশ্যে। এক বিশাল পুলিশ বাহিনী তাঁদের পথরোধ করে টি বোর্ডের অফিসের কাছে। এই শান্তিপূর্ণ মিছিলের ওপর পুলিশের তরফে শুরু হয় লাঠিচার্জ ও কাঁদানে গ্যাস ছোঁড়া। এমনকি মমতা বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়কেও রেয়াৎ করেনি পুলিশ।

কার্জন পার্কের কাছে দৌঁড়াতে শুরু করেন যুব কর্মীরা। এবার পুলিশ গুলি চালানো শুরু করে; মুহূর্তের মধ্যেই মাটিতে লুটিয়ে পড়েন কর্মীরা। প্রাণ হারান ১৩ জন সমর্থক ও আহত হন শতাধিক কর্মী।

পরের বছর থেকে এই দিনটিতে ‘শহীদ দিবস’ পালন করে আসছেন মমতা বন্দ্যোপাধ্যায়।

১৯৯৩ সালের ২১ শে জুলাই যারা শহীদ হয়েছিলেনঃ

শ্রীকান্ত শর্মা

বন্ধন দাস

দিলীপ দাস

অসীম দাস

কেশব বজ্রঙ্গি

বিশ্বনাথ রায়

কল্যাণ ব্যানার্জি

প্রদীপ রায়

রতন মণ্ডল

মুরারি চক্রবর্তী

রণজিৎ দাস

আবদুল খালেক