Peaceful polling in the Bengal bypolls

Bypolls for Bongaon Parliamentary Constituency and Krishnaganj Assembly Constituency were held today at Bongaon and Krishnaganj. The poll lasted from 8 AM to 5 PM today. The Bongaon seat had fallen vacant due to the death of Kapil Krishna Thakur and Krishnaganj seat was vacant due to the demise of Sushil Biswas.


The Trinamool candidates for the constituencies were:

Bongaon – Mamatabala Thakur

Krishnaganj – Satyajit Biswas

The polling percentage in the four constituencies till 5 p.m. was as follows:

Bongaon – 73%

Krishnaganj – 78%

AITC Secretary General Partha Chatterjee met the press after the polling. He said:

We thank the voters of Krishnaganj and Bongaon for their enthusiasm: Partha Chatterjee addressing a press conference. Despite the smear campaign and propaganda by the Opposition, today’s polls were peaceful. Opposition has realised that people have reposed their faith on Mamata Banerjee’s developmental agenda. Opposition has comprehended TMC will win. So they are making false claims now. People will support Mamata Banerjee’s agenda of development, peace and prosperity. 78% turnout in Krishnaganj and 73% polling in Bongaon so far. We congratulate people. We thank the voters of Bongaon and Krishnaganj.

Mamata Banerjee stole BJP’s thunder: Abhishek Banerjee at Bongaon

Trinamool Congress MP Abhishek Banerjee today said that West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has “stolen the thunder” of the BJP while accusing the saffron party of unleashing a “shameful smear campaign against Bengal”.

“Bengal gave us 34 (Lok Sabha) MPs. Modi is not sure if he can even win the Assembly in Delhi. And he dreams of winning here,” Abhishek, Mamata Banerjee’s nephew, said addressing a poll campaign meeting for the upcoming by-election to Bongaon Lok Sabha seat.

“They have unleashed a shameful smear campaign against Bengal,” he said.

“Mamata Banerjee has stolen the thunder of BJP. Narendra Modi and Rahul Sinha (state BJP chief) are nervous,” he said.

The election at Bongoan Lok Sabha constituency is scheduled for February 13.

Along with Bongoan Lok Sabha seat, by-elections will be held in the Krishnaganj Assembly seat in Nadia district.