Format C-7

(for political parties to publish in the Newspapers, social media platforms & website of the party)

Information regarding individuals with pending criminal cases, who have been selected as candidates, along with the reasons for such selection, as also as to why other individuals without criminal antecedents could not be selected as candidates

(As per the Commission's directions issued in pursuance of the Order dated 13.02.2020 of the Hon'ble Supreme Court in contempt petition (C) no. 2192 of 2018 in WP(C) No. 536 of 2011)

Name of the Political Party: ALL INDIA TRINAMOOL CONGRESS

\*Name of the Election: GENERAL ELECTIONS TO LOK SABHA, 2024

Name of State/UT: WEST BENGAL

(1) Name of the Constituency – 1 – Coochbehar (SC) Parliamentary Constituency Name of the Candidate – Shri Jagadish Chandra Barma Basunia

Sl. No.			
1.	Criminal Antecedents		
	a.	Nature of the offences	Offences alleged Under Sections: 147/148/149/325/506 of IPC
	b.	Case no.	Case No. G.R 662/2011
	c.	Name of the Court	Court of the Learned A.C.J.M II, Dinhata
	d.	Whether charges have been framed or not (Yes/No)	No
	e.	Date of conviction, if any	N/A
	f.	Details of punishment undergone, if any	N/A
	g.	Any other information required to be given	N/A
2.	candidate. Selection shall be with reference to the qualifications, achievements and merit of the candidate, and not mere		The candidate in question is a pivotal figure within the SC community, serving as a beacon of leadership and actively participating in initiatives aimed at the betterment of his community members. His deep-rooted involvement and commitment to the welfare of the community underscores his suitability for public office. As such, his

		candidacy is supported on the grounds of his strong advocacy for his community and the questionable legitimacy of the accusations against him.
3.	Reasons as to why other individuals without criminal antecedents could not be selected as candidates (not more than 100 words)	Same as above.

## (2) Name of the Constituency - 1 - Coochbehar (SC) Parliamentary Constituency Name of the Candidate - Shri Jagadish Chandra Barma Basunia

Signature of office bearer of the Political Party

Name and Designation

Derek O'Brien

National Working Committee Member All India Trinamool Congress

<sup>\*</sup> In the case of election to Council of States or States or election to Legislative Council by MLAs, mention the election concerned in place of name of Constituency.