Latest News

November 16, 2018

Brigade rally will be a turning point: Mamata Banerjee

Brigade rally will be a turning point: Mamata Banerjee

Trinamool Chairperson Mamata Banerjee today announced a number of measures for the preparations and campaign of the upcoming Brigade rally. The mega rally of major Opposition parties, organised by Trinamool, will take place on January 19, 2019.

Mamata Banerjee said that this rally will be a turning point for the country. She formed various committees comprising Abhishek Banerjee, Subrata Bakshi, Partha Chatterjee, Derek O’Brien, Suvendu Adhikari, and others, for the same.

Mamata Banerjee asked party leaders to organise booth level meetings in every assembly constituency in the run-up to the Brigade Rally on January 19, 2019. MLAs and elected representatives of gram sabha, panchayat samiti, zilla parishad must attend these meetings. Those who could not be given tickets due to reservation must be called too, she said.

“Focus on wall graffiti for Brigade rally. Prepare 30 wall graffitis in every booth. Do not deface private property. Use the walls at market places and railway stations. Students and youths must take active participation in this. Abhishek Banerjee must take the responsibility for wall graffiti,” she said.

She also cautioned her party colleagues against self-promotion. “Do not use my photos for campaigning. I do not like this. The party will prepare one poster for the Brigade rally; it will be shared with all. Many parties have already confirmed their participation for the rally. It will be a turning point for 2019,” said the Chairperson.

The committees:

People will come from Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Bihar, Assam, Tripura, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha. Derek O’Brien will be in-charge of this. Abhishek Banerjee and Subrata Bakshi will be in-charge of their lodging. An accommodation committee comprising Subrata Bakshi, Abhishek Banerjee, Aroop Biswas, Firhad Hakim, Chandrima Bhattacharya, Arjun Singh has been created.

There will be a reception committee. The MPs will have to take care of those who will be coming for the rally. Derek O’Brien, Dinesh Trivedi, Saugata Roy and Sudip Bandyopadhyay will prepare the list of who will receive whom. The reception committee will comprise of Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar, Shashi Panja, Mahua Moitra, Pratima Mandal, Mamata Bala Thakur, Chandrima Bhattacharya, Subrata Mukherjee, Aparupa Poddar, Sovandeb Chattopadhyay.

We will form a transportation committee also. Suvendu Adhikari will be in-charge. Bratya Basu and Arpita Ghosh will be in-charge of the cultural functions at the venue. We will need a team of doctors as 30-40 lakh people will come. Santanu Sen, Nirmal Maji and Sudipto Roy will take care of the same.

Partha Chatterjee will be the Chairman of the campaign committee, with Abhishek Banerjee and Derek O’Brien as co-chairmen. This committee will take care of festoons, banners and posters. Saugata Roy, Manish Gupta and Manas Bhuniya will also be a part of this committee.